In this section

London Mayoral and Assembly Elections 2020

The London Mayoral and Assembly Elections will take place on 7 May 2020. Unlike General elections, EU citizens are able to vote and have their voices heard on key issues.

The Greater London Authority (GLA) is made up of one Mayor, and 25 Assembly members. There are 14 Assembly members representing the individual London constituencies, some of which comprise several boroughs, and 11 members representing the whole of London. Assembly members hold the Mayor accountable during his or her elected period.


On 7 May, voters will choose from the following Mayoral candidates:

Sadiq Khan - Labour, current Mayor of London

Sean Bailey - Conservative

Siobhan Benita - Liberal Democrat

Sian Berry - Green

Rory Stewart - Independent


Assembly candidates for the upcoming election will be finalised on 1 April 2020.

Current Assembly members and their consituencies are shown in the image below - click on the map to increase the size.

(Image by London Communications Agency)


The deadline for registering to vote in the 2020 Mayoral and Assembly elections is 21 April. To register, please click here.


We are currently running a survey on the Mayoral and Assembly elections for EU Londoners. Click here to take the survey, and please do share it with your friends and contacts.


Subscribe to email updates from New Europeans

Join our newsletter to receive the latest news and events from New Europeans.

* indicates required

Or be a part of it!

Join today Donate Volunteer Online Shop